Whodunnit? Adam? Me? You?

I like blaming Adam for everything.  It makes life easier.  I would be perfect and sinless and eternal, if only it weren’t for Adam.  Thanks, G-G-G-G-G-G-Great Grandfather.  Ahhhh, if only it were so simple.

The fact of the matter is, if I were standing in Eden naked as a jaybird, I would have done the same boneheaded thing.  I would have eaten that forbidden fruit just as quickly as he did, and I know this because I see in my own life just how many times I do what God said not to.  I yell at my kids, I’m greedy, I’m a pig, I’m, I’m, yeah, I run out of things because they are so numerous.  Suddenly, I realize that I probably would not have even gotten as far as Adam.

The point of the story isn’t that Adam screwed it up for all of us.  The point is that humans are by nature capable of both great good and great evil, like directly disobeying the word of God.  The point also is that God is infinite in His grace and compassion, because while the first Adam sentenced us all to death, the second Adam, Jesus of Nazareth, the Christ, has brought us into eternal life.  The focus is less on the fact that Adam was a failure than that God is the perfect Hero for us all.


					
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

