Grace and Truth

I have a confession to make.  I am often not a humble person.  Sometimes I forget that when you are talking to someone about faith matters, it is important to remember why you are doing it.  My wife and I got into a heated debate because I was not being loving in the way I discussed a certain scriptural matter we were pouring over.  Needless to say, it was not something I want to have happen again.

Of course, it never is.  This happens frequently.  I have been a proud person for my entire life, and old habits die hard.  When we speak to others of the truths that we hold, we should remember to do so in love.  Jesus was by far to superior to us in every way, yet when he shared truth, he shared it in love.  We would do well to remember that.

I am not kidding when I say that apologetics sealed the deal for me believing in God.  However, it was the kindness and love of a then friend who is now my beloved wife that originally brought me on my knees to God’s altar in the first place.  Those in apologetics and discernment ministry carry a heavy burden in that they must defend the truth, but not brandish it.  My prayer for all believers is that you can carry on the work of defending your faith in a way that is both full of truth and full of grace.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

