Love-The Many Splendored Thing

I have to confess, I am a sucker for romance movies.  Not goofy, dorky romance movies, but movies that have some backbone.  My wife and I watched Fireproof the other night at home.  Before I get into it, let me establish a few things at first.  First, Kirk Cameron has to be a pretty cool guy to have starred in the movie for free.  Second, the cinematography is somewhere between a low-budget film and a real Hollywood work.  Third, the acting is kind of wooden in a few places.  Finally, the voices are Southern.  I am immune to that, since I am Southern, but I just thought you should know.

Okay, here’s the deal.  Every married man on earth should have to watch this movie.  After watching it, I took the whole thing to heart and have really given myself to God fully in my marriage.  I think there is a reason why the divorce rate inside the church happens to be the same as the divorce rate outside of the church.  The reason is that we as men are not stepping up to the plate and getting rid of our pet sins:  lust, self-centeredness, immaturity, and the like.  We will not reflect God’s light as a church body until we are willing to give up the dark secrets that we as men continue to stubbornly hold onto.

Two challenges for any men that happen to read this:  One, rent or buy Fireproof, and then go get a copy of The Love Dare and take the dare.  Second, be open about your secret sins.  Tell your significant other, or anyone else to whom you can confess this.  The church needs to bring this out in the open so that we no longer allow Satan to have a foothold in our marriages and in our lives.

I am currently in the process of finding out exactly what I need to do in order to get a bill passed in my home state to create a family friendly shopping aisle at major department/grocery stores.  I feel that the longer we allow places like Wal-Mart, Target, Food Lion, Bi-Lo, and the like to continue shoving smut in our face on our way out the door, the longer we are also allowing one of many inroads into our hearts to poison our marriages.  If you are interested in helping me, please indicate so.  There is a reason why the book Every Man’s Battle was called that.  If we work together, we can help each other fight this hidden downfall and begin to turn the tide on sexual sins.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

