Hidden from the wise

In that same hour he rejoiced in the Holy Spirit and said, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; yes, Father, for such was your gracious will. Luke 10:21 (ESV)

I volunteer for a ministry called Got Questions?, and several times I have been asked the question of “why does God make His word so hard to understand?” or some variant. I often struggle to give a good answer for that, and I think it has been due to a desire to sound intelligent or gifted, wise and learned, so that I might feel proud of myself. I feel led by the Holy Spirit that the real answer to this question is that God Himself reveals to us the wisdom and secrets of the Holy Word, such that, when we are vain, lifted up, and proud, we are unable to see what He is saying. However, when we quiet ourselves and give Him the opportunity as Divine Teacher to speak to us, He reveals to us those things we need to know.

And beginning with Moses and all the Prophets, he interpreted to them in all the Scriptures the things concerning himself. (Luke 24:27 ESV)

Then he said to them, “These are my words that I spoke to you while I was still with you, that everything written about me in the Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.” Then he opened their minds to understand the Scriptures, and said to them, “Thus it is written, that the Christ should suffer and on the third day rise from the dead, and that repentance and forgiveness of sins should be proclaimed in his name to all nations, beginning from Jerusalem. (Luke 24:44-47 ESV)

“Behold, the days are coming, declares the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah, not like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, my covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, declares the LORD. But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people. And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.” (Jeremiah 31:31-34 ESV)

God gives wisdom to those who are humble enough to surrender their own selves and to take tutelage from Him, such that they are transformed by His love and grace and imbued with wisdom that is otherwise hidden from those who are considered “wise.”

One thought on “Hidden from the wise

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

