The Joy of the Lord is Your Strength

Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is sacred to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” Nehemiah 8:10

I have to admit, I am a little scared of some things right now.  Everything is not all well and wonderful in our lives at my home, and there are things that are being totally thrown out of wack right now.  From my career to my home, everything is in a place of unrest and instability.  Many days, it is all my wife and I can do to hang on to sanity and strength right now.

It is in times like this that I sometimes have a hard struggle with my faith.  For all of the days that everything seems like God is with us and smiling upon us, there are days when it feels like God is so far away that I can’t remember the joys of life from the times of plenty.  C.S. Lewis called these times “the winter of the soul.” It is in these moments when sleep most frightens me, when I feel that the uncertainty of life seems so large that I can scarce take in the enormity of my own fears.  Now, my wife and I currently find ourselves in one of these places.

The words Nehemiah speaks to the Israelites are comforting in so many ways.  How encouraging, that we can rest in our Lord’s sweet, sweet joy, that we can fall back on the promises that are contained in the scriptures!  How amazing, that the God who ordered the universe and swept the heavens into the skies with the wave of a hand has condescended to meet us at our points of weakness, to sweep us off of our feet, and to allow us to be strengthened by the Lord and His Goodness and Grace!

One thought on “The Joy of the Lord is Your Strength

Add yours

  1. There are a lot of us out there in similar situations, just barely hanging on. I know I would have given up and crawled back into a bottle long ago if it weren’t for the peace and certainty that comes from God. Every time I think things are about to crumble He comes through with at least what I need to keep me going.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

