Why do you believe?

Another key component of a walk with God is knowing WHY you believe what you believe.  I know there is an unnumbered multitude of people who are “walking” with Christ and are “Christ followers,” as the popular vernacular is today, but how often are those folks going through the motions because they don’t know why they even believe it?  How many people choose to follow Christ based on their parents’ relationship with God, or a friend?  How many folks do it for the hip value (I know that sounds weird, but trust me, living in the Bible belt, your church can sometimes be your social club as well)?

I remember being in the position of having a very fake faith that was built on basically riding the coat tails of my parents’ relationship with God.  I didn’t know why I believed that Jesus was the Son of God, I had no idea why I believed that we would live forever with God, and I didn’t know why so many other religions were based on falsehoods.  I went to church and just went through the motions of being a Christian.

The dangers in this should be apparent.  Without having a clear map in your head as to why you believe something, your conviction in your beliefs becomes weaker and weaker.  Eventually, a more novel idea can and will hold sway in your mind because the root of your beliefs was so shallow.  If we are not grounded in why we believe that Christianity is true, we are simply waiting to be blown by every wind of unsound doctrine that pleases our ears.

The solution to this is to dig deeper into our faith.  The proof that serves as the bedrock for our foundation is easily found.

For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.

(Romans 1:19-20 ESV)

A great start is to realize that God has made Himself perceivable.  As I continue in this blog, I will discuss ways and reasons to cement our faith and make sure that we as Christians, disciples of the Lord Jesus Christ, stand firm in our beliefs and run well.  It is my hope that all people who love the Lord can safely agree with Paul and view their lives at the end like so:

For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure has come. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing.
(2 Timothy 4:6-8 ESV)

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

